and through the wire...

By hesscat

Just a Leak

I mentioned a few weeks ago that we had had a walk around a recent water leak that had cascaded through fields, a forest, knocked over a wall and reached the River South Esk. I don't remember being so flabbergasted, maybe I don't get out to flabbergast enough! Anyway, I promised I'd get round to blipping it.

In the top left 1/3 corner, you can see a circle within the brown earth, just to the right of that was where I think the pipe burst. I think the field should be fully green, but the water has stunted the growth where it is not green. From that circle, the torrent flowed down the field, through the hedge and across the next field reaching the trees where massive ruts have formed (about 8 feet deep) and trees have toppled.

Eventually it reached the road running across the photo and must have dammed up against a 10 foot wall which eventually crashed down the banking taking more trees down. There are massive chunks of wall that have travelled about 30 metres towards the river.

Anyway, there must be a tremendous amount of water flowing here, it was probably a pipe from one of the local reservoirs. It reminds me of a meteor or crash landing site. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.