Lazy Sunday

morning

One more doggy walk, one more coffee in the park and then on to the station to turn home.

In my head a poem. I have to translate this for you and therefore I focus on the window no longer. Instead I turn to my mobile phone (like everyone else in the compartment.
But here we go:

Reminiscing Holland

Thinking of Holland
I see broad rivers
Slowly go
through infinity lowland

Rows unthinkable
Bright poplar
Like high plumes
Stand on the horizon

And in the enormous void
The farms
Scattered throughout the country

Trees in groups, villages,
Pollarded towers,
Churches and elms
In a broad sense.

The sky is low
And the sun is slowly drowned
In gray multicoloured
Damps

And in all regions
the voice of the water
With its eternal disasters
Is feared and heard.

-Hendrik Marsman

Denkend aan Holland (English: Reminiscing Holland) is a poem written by Dutch poet Hendrik Marsman (1899-1940), first published in 1936. The poem describes the Dutch landscape and the Dutch struggle against the water. Det er et af de mest kendte poes i dansk
This is one of the best known poems in the Netherlands language.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.