Memorial Day - 1997

Dear Diary,

Here in the US we celebrate Memorial Day today.  It is a time to remember and honor all those who fought for America in all branches of the armed forces.  It is also a day to visit the graves of loved ones.  I plan to visit Dotty's grave today, the first Memorial Day since her passing.

This is a photograph of me and Purrcilla by the front door.  She was a tiny kitten when someone dropped her off at my house in 1996 and I immediately adopted her.  She had the loudest purr of any cat I'd ever seen so I named her Purrcilla.  She was very different than Emerson, feisty and not cuddly in any way, but I loved her.  She died in 2010.

It is a cool, grey day.  I hope the rain holds off so the Memorial Day parades can take place this morning.  Matt comes tomorrow to do some much needed garden work.  He may be dodging raindrops.  I will pick a big bouquet of lilacs for Dotty and her husband Clayton.  I do miss her very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.