Bigger isn't always better...

Dear Diary,

I offer these two examples of little loveliness...Philly and a dwarf crested iris.  Philly, of course, is the height of sweetness in such a tiny package.  When I am out around the house, I often find her just sitting watching me.  Quite content to be in the sun and not a bit afraid of my presence.  Check out her darling crossed front paws!

These little iris grow only 6 inches tall and are the first to bloom each year in mid-May.  I really need to plant more of these diminutive beauties.  They come in a white variety as well.  Thomas Jefferson, in 1766, made note of these very flowers in his botanical journal of Monticello.   They were first brought to America in the late 1600's.

We seem to be a country that is in love with size and equates it with success.  I love the trend we see now of people building tiny houses, scaling back on what is really necessary to live a happy and content life.  Big cars are not as popular any more either.  Perhaps we are finally learning that we must live gently on the earth and bigger is definitely not always better...just ask Philly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.