Himself has the walking urge and now wants to yomp around the Beara Way - a seriously rugged 200km walk on yes, the Beara Peninsula. He's going to do it in stages, so today I left him in the woods in Glengarriff and tomorrow evening I shall pick him up in McCarthy's Bar (the famous one) in Castletownbere. I carried on and decided an adventure of my own was needed and that I would go island hopping! There is a St Michael's Well on Bere island so off I went to the ferry. It's a mercifully short 20 minutes over to the island but I was so thankful that I was foot passenger. The ferry is in the extras- can you believe 5 cars were squeezed on! Each had to go on backwards and there was about an inch between them, skillfully advised by the ferryman who remained calm and good natured. I'd have had a nervous breakdown.
The island is 11km long and pretty hilly, now home to 200 people. Off I went. Did I notice the (very small) sign that said St Michael's well - no, and I found myself on a rather vigorous loop walk which added about 5 miles to my intended stroll and seemed to consist of an awful lot of up and down but some spectacular views. Mindful of the ferry  home, I had to start powering it, at one point scattering startled Americans in my wake. Their leader oddly enough was the man I bumped into in a b&b two weeks ago! The Americans eventually had to power it too because they'd miscalculated the ferry by an hour! The fittest was sent ahead to hold the ferry!
Anyway, the well was eventually arrived at by a rather unconventional route ie down the side of the mountain - can you see it? It's dedicated to St Michael and has a truly awful very kitsch silver figure of the man himself slaying Satan. You can just make out the quay for the ferry - well I now had to descend this mountain and get down there fairly sharpish! Thankfully I found the way I should have come up which was clearly marked by yellow daubs on the rocks. Sundews and butterworts abounding.

Thanks so much to everyone who entered this week's DS challenge, especially those who came up with a story - you can see all entries here. Horribly difficult who to award the hearts to but here goes:
KathGordon for an amazing building and a very personal story
60Plus who managed two very different entries, and each story riveting!
HasItsCloud for a brilliantly  observed story
Marlieske for her forbidden room full of treasure and fantastic poem
Arachne for the shortest of stories and an ethereally beautiful image

Last week of me hosting Derelict Sunday so it's free range for DS84. Serpentine will be taking over after that. Should you fancy a stint at hosting please let me or her know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.