briocarioca

By briocarioca

A Treeful of Tanagers

Such a lovely morning, sun and clear air. We got HH to the golf club in good time for his game, then I went go exploring with the dogs. Not really exploring, as we were revisiting the waterfall and the hill, ruins and views above it. I could hear a hawk or falcon very close, but couldn't get a clear shot, even by stepping down below the road onto the roof of a ruined house. It moved further up the hill and I followed, but then it flew off - to be replaced shortly after by a flock of little birds. They moved very quickly from bush to bush, tweeting away, but it was ages before I could get a clear shot and identify them. I watched and clicked for quite a while, a big smile on my face all the time.
On the way back to the car I took some cuttings from an abandoned garden, feeling slightly guilty as I came up behind someone, till I realised they were far too drunk to be bothered, even if there was something to bother about. It turned out to be a man I had met before with the old caddie, Walter, down near the waterfall. When I mentioned that, he was all smiles, asked my name, introduced himself as Joao Batista and told me repeatedly that he was at my service if I ever needed anything at all. I eventually managed to bid him farewell and climb back into the car with my ill gotten gains. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.