Onion Johnny

Good day at the market in Romsey today and I came away with more onions than I ever envisaged buying when I went out.
The reason? The original Onion Johnny from Roscoff  was there with a load of onions, giant garlic and a host of vegetables from Brittany.  Well, at least that is what it said on his billboard by his stall.  I’ve seen this “Johnny” in the market before and time was when another “Johnny”, complete with bicycle and strings of onions hanging from the handlebars called regularly at our place.
He even found out where we lived when we moved from one house, and sure enough turned up on the doorstep.  But then, we always bought onions from him, just like today. If I hadn’t bought tomatoes and garlic at the weekend, no doubt I would have had these today as well.
What is the attraction of these onions from Brittany? Is it the flavour? Are they really any different from those I might buy in the supermarket?
I like to think so, if only to justify the fact the I buy them whenever I see a French market or a “Johnny from Roscoff.” 
There was a second stall at the market today, proudly sporting a Tricolor  and selling baguettes, croissants and French pastries.  Certainly, the flour used to make these produces a very different flavour and texture to those we attempt to bake at home.

Only hope that “Johnny” and his compatriots can still cross the Channel with their produce midst all the political ramifications surrounding our relationship with mainland Europe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.