Memory Lane

It has been a good few years since I drove a BMW, although at one time cars from this German manufacturer held a regular place in my drive.
Among a good many other cars which I drove during the course of my working role as a motoring editor of various newspapers and magazines who had the privilege of driving and appraising many new cars as well as a few old favourites.
The BMW fell into both camps. I was fortunate to be invited to drive many brand new ones soon after they were launched to the public, sometimes even before they were officially on sale. And then it was always a pleasure to return to some that I had driven before, possibly many times.
So when my own car developed starter motor problems over the bank holiday weekend it seemed that I might face the prospect o remaining in the garden and at home for the weekend.
But when my local garage who were to do the work on my car, offered the use of a courtesy car for the weekend, who was I to refuse? Especially when it turned up outside the garage workshop, as a BMW. A rather elderly BMW perhaps, but nevertheless a BMW.
My daughter, whose memory must be infinitely better then mine, even reminded me of times when I had picked her up in various versions, many years ago.

Somehow this little trip down memory lane helped lighten the load of the prospect of having to fork out for the unexpected replacement starter motor!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.