Tranquility

Quintessentially English . . . the serenity of a Sunday afternoon where the sport of cricket is a regular weekend fixture..
It’s many years since I played and at one time I was a vice-president for a local team which really meant little more than lending my support and turning out for matches, then usually played in the evening.
Well before that, as a youngster `I can recall the treat of being taken to the local park where my grandfather used to umpire village cricket. Not that I understood much about the rules of cricket at that age, but it was always a pleasure watching granddad  delivering his verdict out on the pitch.
This particular club. the Old Tauntonians and Romsey Cricket Club is the amalgamation 18 years ago of two long standing clubs in the area, both able to trace their ancestry back to the late 1800s.
Today the club runs five Saturday teams, a Sunday friendly eleven, three sides in league and a thriving colts section.
 
But although there were five fixtures on Saturday, this Sunday afternoon the ground was serene and quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.