TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Tiny Nest

It is already Wednesday here, but I did take this yesterday so hope I can still post it under TT.  A couple of months ago I picked up this tiny nest from the ground in the gardens of a mansion we were visiting.  It has sat on my desk ever since, failing to inspire me to Blip it.  Yesterday I took a really close look at it and was amazed at the work and materials that had gone into this little feat of engineering.  Just 3 inches across, it has been firmly attached to those two slender, decidedly twiggy shafts (probably why it fell to the ground).  Looking closely I can see strands of blue baler twine, moss, and even an autumn leaf. The whole thing is quite substantial and closely woven.
Yes, desperate for a Blip, I was compelled to look more closely and was quite surprised and delighted.
Have had a Blip break due to needing the sensor cleaned on my camera.  Am relieved it was a simple task and does not indicate a long term problem.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.