OldTimer

By OldTimer

Camelia Seed Head.

Today is the last day of Autumn so decided I needed an autumn blip. Mind you it has been like winter for a week or two.
This very hard seed is off one of my camellias, eventually it turns woody and cracks open and seed drops to the ground and grows under the tree. My other camellia has nothing like this.
After my husband died and I was left with this large garden that I knew nothing about, I got venturesome in my learning. I planted one of these seeds it took eight years before it flowered but flower it did. Being the greenhorn at gardening that I am, when it came time to put it in the garden I planted it underneath my Mt Fuji flowering Cherry. How daft was that and now it is right up through the Cherry tree and far too big to shift.
Now we head into winter proper I hope it treats us kindly. I have a great log fire so am always toasty warm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.