Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Tempo de Minerva e Torre del Popolo

Assisi yesterday. Which we thought was wonderful. We were dropped off at the Bus station and then we headed uphill to the main Piazza, passing the amazing Cathedral of S. Francesco on our left ( we left our visit until the end of the day). So much to see on the way up and several really interesting buildings to photograph. ( I'm having to ration my viewing at the moment because my iPad drive is getting very full.). We spent some time enjoying the carvings on the outside of the Cattedrale di S. Rufino but found the inside over fussy and not aesthetically pleasing. We then made our way up to the castle Rocco Maggiore, for the views over the town and surrounding district. We were up there at noon and hearing all of the different chimes being played down below was a wonderful experience. There were good butterflies too, but they didn't stay still , so no photos. Lunch was rather disappointing, but the garden setting was lovely and our cook delightful and friendly which rather made up for the food. We didn't actually go in the church in the photograph but I quite liked the view, which I took while Ann was in the bookshop next door.

And the lower basilica in the S. Francesco Cathedral is just stunning and the Giotto paintings are wonderful. I'd make this my first port of call if I went again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.