To boldly go.....

A restful night in Allihies, then I dropped himself off in Castletownbere and I went in search of a well. I knew this one would be challenging and if I'm honest, I didn't think I'd find it for on the map the road goes up, turns into a track, then a foot path and then nothing....... I parked the car on the road bit for I was not sure exactly how grey the grey bit on the map would be. This entailed a long walk through moorland and sheep with horns and bold stares. I followed the track, then the footpath and then gazed up at the mountain - yes the well was right up there. A serious scramble next, through bogginess, up over rocks, in mossy clefts, higher and higher up until almost thwarted by a barbed wire fence. Someone had been over before me and bent the metal so I thought it do-able - it was, if not terrifically elegantly achieved. And more up until - I saw the crosses painted onto the mountainside - yes, I was close. But look at that little ledge - it was as narrow as it looks and the bit on the other side was a sheer and steep as you might imagine! And the wind had got up. But the well was there - not quite as spectacular as the climb might suggest. I sat and reflected. The well was dedicated to St John and on St John's Eve, 23rd June, hordes of people would have staggered up here to pay their respects. How?? Why?? Who decided all this?

The extra view shows just how high I was up - that snaky little path is the one I came up, and that's Castletownbere in the distance. The island is Bere, where I was gallivanting a few days ago. I decided to come down a slightly faster route and skidded down mostly on my bottom. I am not a woman who gets excited about bags but I fear I might have to treat myself to a new one for it is now covered in bog and sheep shite. How lovely everywhere was though - so full of wildflowers and larks in full throat.

After all that I thought I deserved a strong coffee and headed to Dzogchen Beara, the Buddhist retreat, for a reflective cuppa - what a view!
By this time Himself was emerging from the mountains, having a very satisfactory day too. It beats the housework anyway.

Himself's Day
back blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.