But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Peebles from Manor Sware.

It was my turn to lead the run and, for the first time, the coordinator has let the leaders choose their own dates and destinations. Manor Sware has always been a favourite of mine with some fantastic views over Peebles and the two best hills in the Lothians, one for the morning and the other for the afternoon. The blip is but a segment of a 180 degree stitched panorama, I felt I couldn’t crop it anymore and cut off the extremities of the town nor include any more and reduce the amount of detail visible on the screen.
 
I took the trouble to look up the word “Sware” yesterday; a difficult assignment as Google insisted that I wanted to know about swear words. It's a word that occurs quite commonly in Scottish place names and apparently refers either to a hollow between to hills often occupied by a roadway, or a hollow or level area near the top of a hill. Manor Sware is the latter being at the top of a quite vicious climb
 
As you can see, I managed to arrange for superb weather; and the hot water in the bath this evening managed to find all the bits that had become sunburnt even though I had anointed myself with lotion early in the day.
 
Thanks are due to Bob’sBlips for hosting this week’s challenge though I must admit to missing his themes by a mile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.