The Picture House - Plans

13.6C with rain all day. moderate S/SSE breeze.

I intended to do some research this morning on an act billed as Dr Ormonde's Sunflower Coterie. Dr Ormonde and his talented family brought his Vivograph films and variety concert to Campbeltown in the years before The Picture House opened.

When I found out that Ormonde, whose real name was Andrew Garrioch Omond, was born in Kirkwall, Orkney I couldn't let it go and I have been researching online most of the day. It was raining anyway so I wouldn't have gone out for long I expect.

I have found birth, marriage, death, journeys across the Atlantic, children (who also performed), a poster, adverts for performances, newspaper articles, obituaries, photographs from Ireland which happen to have a poster in the background, and that he wrote several books (which seem to be unobtainable or very rare although I have two cover photos). He was a stage hypnotist, exposer of spiritual fraud, magician, and friend of Harry Houdini. Amazing.

The full sheet of the plans for the Picture House today.

DMC-LX7 f/2 1/100 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.