Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Where's Hope?

It's a stretch, I know. However, this is a finch, albeit a Goldfinch and Hope is a finch, albeit a House Finch...so, you can kind of see the connection, right? Anyway, I just liked the lighting on this shot so I went with it. Took it as the sun was getting low and shining through the leaves in the trees, giving everything a golden glow. I cloned out a bit of branch on the right of the frame and cropped it a bit - that is pretty much the sum total of my editing ability! She is nice in LARGE, too.

So, I'm sure you are dying to know how Hope the Finch is doing... First of all, I have learned that Hope is a male finch - doesn't matter, I'm still going with Hope as his name. If he survives this ordeal, he'll be more than secure enough to go through life named Hope! He is slightly better today, according to Giselle at Avian Rescue. However, his uninjured eye is showing signs of the Finch Eye Disease now, so she is also treating him for that. She says she won't know if he will survive for probably another 2-3 days, but she is hopeful. So keep the good thoughts coming, please. Giselle asked that I keep an eye out on the rest of the finch flock here to see if any of them show any signs of infection.

Was in a meeting most of the day so not much time to do any photography, other than a few shots late this afternoon. Seemed like all the birds wanted to know what was up with Hope...
The adolescent goldfinch was curious...
the house finch was busy talking about it...
The late-season hummers were agog with curiosity...
None of which deterred Papa Goldfinch from feeding his persistent toddler

That pretty well wraps things up from Tallyho. Hope all is well in your corners of the world...

And thank you for sending my Bee-liever yesterday to the Spotlight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.