Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

..."Dad! Dad! Look at me!!!"

Buffy: Dad, I want to get THIS big!
Fluffy: Stop bragging, Buf. Dad, what about me? I'm cute! Look at me!"
Buffy: No! Stop looking at him! Pay attention to me!
Fluffy: That's IT! I'm gonna jump on your damned head!
Buffy: No! Dad likes me better - see he's giving me the seeds!
Fluffy: Hmph!

Yes, the goldfinch chicks are fledging and BOY, are they persistent! They nearly put the blue jay kids to shame with their aggressive begging and mobbing poor dad. At several points, Dad flew off into the trees ... with juveniles in hot pursuit! Poor Dad. One of the chicks is particularly persistent and is crying piteously the entire time Dad is trying to get some thistle - crying and flapping his wings as fast as he can.

Busy day today, so I only had a brief bit of time late this afternoon to get out in the yard, but it was worth it to see this show. Hope you enjoy it.

And speaking of Hope... Well, reversal of gender, for starters. Giselle says that while she hasn't had a chance to "sex the finch" yet, she thinks it is a young female. And Hope is still stable and eating fairly well. No improvements yet with the eyes and Giselle is not sure if she will lose sight or not. However, if she survives the weekend, that will be positive. She will have to stay on antibiotics for the eye disease for 3 weeks; if she has sight, she can then be released. So, fingers still crossed.

Hubs and I are off to a wedding tomorrow - and it is being held at a winery! How perfect is that?? Weather is supposed to be perfect so I anticipate a nice afternoon.

Hoping to catch up with comments tonight. Looking forward to seeing what everyone is up to.
Ciao!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.