Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Ellenabeich

Oh the heavens opened in these parts today.... and I mean aaaaall day today, but ne'er mind.  A visit to the island of Seil, off the west coast of Scotland, with a plan to hop on a boat to visit the wee island of Easdale.  It was all a bit soggy however.....so whilst taking a mascara run break... popped in to the tiny museum at Ellenabeich.  Oh my days...... well who knew this area was so interesting!  A thriving historical slate mining area - I've never seen beaches like it!  And these oh so pretty cottages looked pretty much as they did back in the day.  Minus street lamps, tv ariels and speed bumps of course!
I questioned the chap in the museum intensely..... I was intrigued by the history.....he did however, after a long while politely mention to us that the pub was now open where refreshments were being served.  Well.... I'm always open to rainy day solutions :)) 
Also...... just in case you are ever asked these in a pub quiz.... on the isle of Easdale, every year in September they hold the the world's stone skimming championships, and Princess Diana's mother Lady Shand Kydd lived on the isle of Seil until she died.
It's been a wet, but interesting day.
PS ... the slate in the area is very beautiful... especially when wet )) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.