0206

I was coming out of grocery store when I saw the public transportation of our village to leave from it's stop. Luckily I had Go Pro in my pocket and I had time to take few pictures before it was around the corner.

This is the tourist road train for our area of 10 000 people (during season the amount of people triples). We do get a regular bus service too, but those go to Santa Pola and Alicante. This train goes around the village. You can hop on to go to the library, pharmacy, spa, mall, bars and restaurants and of course, to the most important place - the playa - our fantastic beach.

Gran Alacant is where I live and some of it is up on Monte de Santa Pola, so even on a semi hot day it's quite a climb. This train is needed in the area for those without cars.

It's the same gentleman always driving it. I believe it's his own business. He takes some time of during February, but otherwise he is driving the train 7 days a week. During summers the schedule is very frequent, during off seasons the train drives tree times before siesta. The complete round tour takes about an hour. 

And the kids love the train. The driver is a nice guy and always making kids happy (and sometimes us adults) by honking the horn. When he saw me take the selfies with the train, he gave a big wave. So I guess ¡Hola! from him too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.