Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Stinking iris – Iris foetidissima

I found this wild iris on an early walk round Barton Farm this morning.  It was lurking under a hedge and therefore not it quite such good light as I would have liked, but I thought the colours. supporting nettle and dark background rather fun.  It’s the first time I’ve seen them there, though they do grow in fair numbers in this part of the world.  Apparently it’s called ‘stinking’ because when crushed the leaves smell of raw beef – this is not something I’ve tested, you understand!  Oh, and for you Lord of the Rings fans, its other name is the gladdon (as in ‘the Gladdon Fields’).
 
Okay, that’s enough iris.
 
The rest of the day was taken up with doing my physio exercises (pretty useless so far), lots of cooking and messing about on the computer.
 
Strawberries with meringue and cream tonight and a happy evening.  Enjoy yours  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.