Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

AR

A beautiful morning, so I took the camera shopping with me.  And to push me out of my comfort zone I only took the standard lens.

AR is a resident of Winchester from longer ago that I can tell you about.  He used to work in the City Council's Planning Dept when I first arrived and is a senior member of the Quakers round here.  His thoughts and wisdom - always written with thick coloured markers - decorate the gates of the beautiful Quakers Meeting House in Colebrook Street.  I am not a Quaker, but that's where my two kids went to playschool and where, consequently, I made a lot of good friends.

Although getting quite frail, AR also brings his wisdom onto the street when he sees a wrong he feels needs righting.  Today it is about Winchester not having it's usual pre-election hustings.  You could call him Winchester's conscience.

You could also say conscience was a bit of a theme today.  As well as this, the Body Shop girls were asking for signatures to stop worldwide animal testing for cosmetics (I signed) and there was a huge Pentecostal jamboree in the Cathedral's Outer Close.  Very well attended, I have to say, if not (up till now) very 'Winchester'.

I've added an Extra of the High Street and market, just to give you some context.

Have a happy Saturday night  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.