"What's In A Name?"

I read in the paper this morning that Britain is at risk of losing many of the wildflowers that feature in Shakespeare's works. That gave me the idea of photographing flowers mentioned in The Bard's writings for day two of 30 Days Wild. I found a selection and uploaded a montage.

The dog rose above is being visited by a male fat-thighed flower beetle. The females don't have thunder thighs.

Today's poem is The Trees by Philip Larkin. http://www.poetryarchive.org/poem/trees

I don't know why the editors of Poem For The Day Two selected this poem for today. It's about trees in May. I do love the poem though. It puts my thoughts into words. "Their greenness is a kind of grief." During May the new leaves are soft, translucent lime-green. We've waited all winter for them to appear and we know it won't be long until they harden and darken and lose their charming vibrancy, as they have done by today,   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.