Catherine

A great surprise for me today. My friend Catherine dropped in to give me a copy of her just published book, A Wife on Gorge River by Catherine Stewart. Catherine has been described as the most remote mother in New Zealand. Her home is two day's walk from the nearest road. Her husband's book, A Life on Gorge River by Robert Long was published a couple of years ago, and it has been very popular.

I have known Catherine for about 22 years. I was impressed by the young woman with the blue faraway eyes and the forthright manner and grew very fond of her. I was thrilled when she introduced me to some people as her "sort of spare Mum." With her husband she has successfully raised two excellent children under challenging circumstances.

This photo does her no favours. You can see why I don't blip people, but I'm so proud of her.

As if this wasn't enough excitement for one day my granddaughter rang to tell me that she has been accepted as an exchange student at McGill University in Canada, and later at Exeter University in England. I'm proud of her too.

One year ago: My best moon shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.