Feast of St Kevin

Dear Diary,

Today is the feast day of St Kevin.  Three years ago on this day I visited the site of his hermitage overlooking the  upper lake at Glendalough in Ireland.  And like today, I was suffering from a flare-up of this chronic condition I am dealing with again today.  But I was determined to make the climb and I made it.  Determination can overcome a lot.

As I approached the site what jumped out at me was the perfect heart shaped hole in the tree and I smiled.  It was such a welcoming sign and I felt instantly at ease in this beautiful and quiet place.  Only foundation stones remain and I parked myself on one and ate my simple lunch of bread and cheese.  I could hear the birds in the trees...it was so peaceful.

St Kevin is the Irish St Francis.  He had a special relationship with wild animals and birds.  There was a lovely sculpture near the church in the valley of his hand and a bird. (extra)  The story goes that as he stood in prayer with his arms outstretched a bird came and built a nest in his hand.  He stayed still until the eggs had hatched and the birds flew away.
Patience.  My word for the year and what I will need as I work through this latest flare-up.

If you care to read about my visit here is the link to the blog post I wrote three years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.