A lovely light...

Dear Diary,

My little hummingbirds come every morning without fail and when the light is just right it is wonderful.  This little female is taking a break between sips of the sweet sugar water.  Very considerate of her!  I hope I will be able to get a good photo of the male too.

Our beautiful weather continues but they are promising rain this week just as painting, outside repairs and mowing need doing!  Maybe they will be able to work around the raindrops.  We surely need the rain very much.

I went to a very interesting exhibit at our local historical society yesterday on the logging industry in Maine from the early 17th century to the present.  What a difficult life they had.  Maine supplied so much of the lumber for building the new country and the sawdust was used to pack Maine ice to ship around the world.  One of my ancestors captained one of those cargo ships out of Portland.  (I have included an extra of a part of the exhibit.) 

Some trees were marked as "king's trees", set aside for masts for the British fleet.  There is still one not far from me that was marked in the mid-18th century but never cut.  It is an impressive tree and I am so glad it was spare the cutter's saw.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.