In Praise of the Wild Things

Dear Diary,

Our rain did not come but more flowers are bursting forth and I am filled with such joy for small miracles.  The Allium is passing but the thistle is a lovely blue and my beloved Honey Locust are beginning their fragrant bloom.  The trees are already alive with the buzzing of countless bees.

The Iris are still putting on a great show and the Peony buds are swelling. I also had a new visitor to the yard last night and again this morning.  You can see him in the extra. He is a Snowshoe hare and a handsome fellow.  His large white tail is quite clear unlike his enormous white back feet which are a sight to behold.  He looked up from his breakfast just long enough for me photograph him through the window.  All hares I call "Horatio", after a character I drew for my students back in the day.

Nature, in both its domesticated and wild varieties, fills me with awe every day.  I am taking and on-line 21 day retreat, Poetry as Therapy, which is proving a wonderful experience.  Each day we are given a poem to read and reflect on.  But for me Nature provides the best poetic experience of all.  Simply walking amongst the flowers and spying a new visitor to the garden is all the therapy I need.

I just saw that last year on this day I posted a photo of St Francis!  I also saw that I was at the time suffering from the horrible condition that would eventually bring about my surgery.  What a difference a year makes!  It makes it an even more joyful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.