Drawn to the Past

Dear Diary,

I will freely admit that I love history and genealogy.  Memories are so important to me.  I was puttering around the studio and found these drawings I made 20 years ago for a project at school.  I was making an artist's quilt using famous women as the theme.  These drawings of Georgia O'Keeffe, Kathe Kollwitz, and Frida Kahlo were printed on fabric and sewn into the quilt along with nine other women artists.  My mother and grandmother were great traditional quilters.

I have always loved to draw, even as a small child.  I have my father's old sketchbook where I tried to copy one of his drawings when I was around five.   (I've added it as an extra.)  My mother was a superb drawer and I have several of her drawings from the mid-1930's. (Also extra)  She used to help me draw paper dolls when I was young, something I loved to do.

Ironically, neither my brother or my sister inherited the "drawing gene".  They have other talents.  I was so fortunate to have been able to make my career in the arts and it shaped my whole life in profound ways.  I still like to "doodle" and drawing in some form or another will always be a part of my life.  Thanks Mom and Dad for giving me a good start!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.