No Time for Resting

Dear Diary,

Bees amaze me.  Their short lives are filled with work from dawn to dusk.  They only get to rest on really rainy days, which we had yesterday, but the minute the rain lets up off they go to gather their precious pollen which looks to me like little golden saddlebags attached to their legs.

My poetry assignment this morning was to try and see the life around me in a new way and I think this humble bumble bee is a wonderful teacher.  Of course, we know there would be no food without the bees but that is a self-centered observation, as if the bees exist only to serve us.  They live their lives in complete oblivion to our needs; they do their work to assure that their community survives even if they don't live to see the sweet result.  A selfless act it seems to me.

So, today I will plant more flowers to give the bees new opportunities; to make their life a bit easier.  It is the least I can do for these wonderful creatures who know a life of constant toil and who do not complain at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.