Home Is Where the Hummingbirds Dance

Overall, I'd say it's been a cool and rainy spring. I spotted a hummingbird or two at the very end of April, when they always return, but I have not seen them around much since then. I am a faithful friend to the hummingbirds; I keep the feeder clean and full, and I watch and listen for them, always.

On this beautiful early June day, they returned! And the feeder was busy all day. And the air was full of the sound of tiny wings, and the occasional happy chirp. My husband and I had had plans to go swimming on this day, but we checked, and all of the local swimming areas were closed because of issues related to heavy storms earlier in the week.

We felt thwarted at first, of course (as one does), but the unexpected gift was this: I got to spend a quiet day at home, in our lovely early summer yard, enjoying some beautiful moments with the hummingbirds, the chipmunks, the butterflies, the birds.

The first visitor I spotted was this little male. From this angle, his throat doesn't look red at all. But I can assure you that in the right light, it does. Thus the name they are given: ruby throat. I also saw either one, or maybe even two females, possibly including Herself, the Lady Greensleeves.

I took a lot of photos of the little birds because I was so glad to see them. I miss them and worry about them when they are gone: will they find their way home? It seemed like they were happy too. The little fellow in this picture was bouncing up and down on the feeder, tiny wings spread wide, and it seemed to me like a dance: the joyful dance celebrating the hummingbirds' return.

The soundtrack song is a favorite, and I know I've used it at least once before. It is one of the most beautiful songs about being home, and I'm including three versions. I hope you find one you like.

Bonnie Raitt, Feels Like Home
Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, and Linda Ronstadt, Feels Like Home
Diana Krall and Bryan Adams, Feels Like Home

May you always find your own way home . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.