The Woods Are Lovely, Dark, and Deep

Apparently, it is the time of year when I just can't stay away from the woods and waters! I stopped by Shingletown for a short visit on this morning, and I am happy to report that the water was chilly and clear (yes, I waded but I didn't fall in - the best photo ops, like this one, are from the middle of the stream), and the woods were lovely, dark, and deep, as that fine fellow Frost once said.

Some of my happiest memories as a child are of wading in the creeks of central Pennsylvania in the summer. A hike to the falls on Lost Creek was a favorite summer trek, and I have to say that this creek, of all the ones I enjoy now as an adult, is the one that reminds me most of home. (There's a larger view of the falls on Lost Creek in the extras at this blip-link.)

The soundtrack: The Deep Dark Woods, The Place I Left Behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.