Green Woods and Waters, Into Which I Tumbled

It turns out that being me is not just a job; it's a full-time grand adventure! Never content to simply enjoy Pennsylvania's woods and waters as a bystander, from a safe distance, I am occasionally inclined to become one with them. That frequently involves wading in the cool, clear waters. On this day, it was something even more: I actually fell in!

I guess it was bound to happen sooner or later. And I'm glad it happened in May and not December. It's been quite rainy around here lately, and everything is covered in mud. It rained again overnight, and it turns out that the muddy banks at Millbrook Marsh that looked slippery on this morning indeed WERE.

I took a step down the bank, heading for a rock by the creek where I often stand to take pictures. My left foot hit the mud, and it slid out from under me. Down I went, straight into the creek with very little ceremony. Ker-SPLOOSH!

I was fortunate to manage to stay upright. I got a little wet but I didn't drop or harm the camera; in fact, I didn't get any water on it at all, despite my splashing around. I was fortunate to be wearing Crocs on my feet, which are made for that sort of thing. So all that was wounded was my pride.

And so I simply stepped - quite gingerly - out of the creek and up onto my rock, took off my Crocs and washed off the mud, and soldiered on with taking pictures . . . as one does. A friend says perhaps I was doing my best otter-on-a-mudslide impression, so if it amuses you to do so, please picture me in this habitat, doing just that.  :-)

The photo above is a lovely green view down the run. I'm posting it because I feel I fully EARNED this picture on this day. This was the view to my left from the rock on which I stood. It is very inviting. It makes you want to jump right into the frame, doesn't it? I think I know just how you feel.

You may note that the tree branches in this shot almost form an arch. Another friend tells me that when you find a complete archway in the woods, you should walk under it three times, for good luck. So hey, let's do that. But how about YOU GO FIRST!? For myself, I think I've had enough walking-on-water for one day. ;-)

I couldn't decide which song to use as the soundtrack to accompany this shot, so here are both of the ones I picked. First is Simon and Garfunkel, with Slip Slidin' Away. And second is Emmylou Harris, with Beneath Still Waters. Enjoy. Oh, and here's a word of advice: if you go walking along the creek, please watch out along the banks, for I hear they can be quite slippery when wet!

P.S. I have mentioned we have two baby bunnies in our yard now, and watching them is providing my husband and me with endless delights. On this morning at dawn, a much larger, taller, darker bunny appeared at the edge of the yard near the road.

The bunny's face looked so familiar. And it gave me the strangest, most soulful, wishful look. The bunny's photo is included in the extras. I do not know if it is actually her, but I am hopeful it is: could this be the return of the long lost Binky Bunzini? Could it be!???? If it is . . . well then, welcome home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.