A Song of Purple Summer

The Arboretum gardens are dressed in green and purple these days. The allium are in bloom, standing tall with their large, round seed heads, looking like purple aliens. It's a good time of year for lovers of purple.

I strolled through the gardens on this morning and paid my first visit to the art installation that appeared on Thursday of last week. I'll show you some of those on another day.

The poppies are in bloom too, and as I was kneeling among them, shooting upwards through them into the light like red stained glass windows, I felt a gentle bump-bump, and there was Scout the Arboretum cat, ready to receive some little morning pettings and love, which I so happily provided.

It was a good morning, amid really lovely light. The late days of May slide into early June, and the color of June is green. Green and purple, two of the colors of joy.

By the way, this view might look a bit familiar. Last week, I posted a photo of these trellises from the other end, looking in the opposite direction. Clearly this end has more purple!

The soundtrack: Lauren Pritchard, The Song of Purple Summer, from the rock musical Spring Awakening's original Broadway soundtrack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.