Millbrook Marsh, Featuring Dame's Rocket

As I think I mentioned yesterday, June has arrived bedecked in purple and green! At the Arboretum, the purple allium was the big story. At Millbrook Marsh on this particular morning, it was dame's rocket.

Now, dame's rocket is officially classified as an invasive weed. But I have to tell you I just don't mind it. I think it's lovely: like a purple cloud among the green hills. If evil dressed itself in purple (my favorite color), I'm afraid I might just let it waltz right in!

You might be tempted to mistake these beauties for phlox, but phlox flowers have five petals, and dame's rocket flowers only have four. There's your botany lesson for the day!

For the song to accompany this image, I wanted something with the word rocket in it. And here is an absolute favorite. It's an Elton John classic: Rocket Man. Bonus: also performed by the lovely and perhaps slightly peculiar Kate Bush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.