Busy day in a quiet glen

On my way to the Glen Lonan polytunnel near Taynuilt this morning I turned down the supposed dead-end road to Balindore as I did last time I went - here - in the hope again of spotting an old acquaintance. I haven't seen him in years and the last time I drove past his cottage there was nobody there. 

I was surprised to see a driver drop a woman off along the road in front of me, so offered her a lift. She asked if I was going to Sam's and I replied that I thought I'd see if he was about. She told me that his wife, whom I hadn't met, had died not long ago and he was having a farewell and remembrance party as he was selling up and going away later in the year. Sure enough, round the corner was a field full of cars, a strange sight in an empty and remote glen.

I didn't stop, being in my working clothes an' all, but will try again next time. I didn't like the look of one of the conifers in his garden I must say.

What a strange day it's been! There were heavy showers while I was working in the tunnel, a violent thunder and lightning storm after lunch, followed by a hailstorm, now at 6.30 I'm roasting in the sun waiting for my dinner to cook!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.