Flamborough

No, this isn't but that's where I was heading. 

My sister moved there a few months ago and I've plotted a few options for rides over there. The plan was for me to cycle there and Rich to come over in the car with his bike and Little Dog.  When we looked at the weather last week, it looked perfect. Me heading west with a westerly and Rich heading back on almost an easterly.

I decided, given the mileage, to try out a flat one.  

It's been a great day - I'd managed the one busy road at a great time with just a few cars and the odd lorries who were complete gentlemen so I gave them all a wave.  The rest has been pretty much on quiet backroads.   This is South Dalton Church which I loved for its skinny spire and beautifully quaint almshouses.  I spotted a couple of yellowhammers which I haven't seen before flying in and out of the hedgerows and enjoyed whiling away 6 hours on my bike.  The westerly wasn't huge but I'm sure it helped.  

I had a couple of stops and timed the last one well to avoid the rain that caught up with me four miles from Flamborough. I was quite pleased with just seventeen spots of rain with an ominous looking forecast.

I arrived at my sister's in good time, was served up pasta for three for one and then had fish from the chip shop. 

And then I got a phone call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.