sarah1708

By sarah1708

Floppy disks

For some reason, the lab has hundreds of floppy disks with old data stored on them sitting in the meeting room. As I was looking for some data which I was told might be on one of them, I agreed to digitise all of them in my spare time so that we could throw them away. It was a longer task than anticipated, taking 9 hours. Over 2/3rds didn't even work (they were too old for the computer I was using), and most were from before I was even born! I also had to make sure to do the work when no one else was in the lab (late at night) as the computer made a huge noise whenever it was reading a disk. 

At least it's done now! Unfortunately the data I wanted wasn't actually on any of them, but my supervisor did find a copy elsewhere. I'm not annoyed though - it was a very therapeutic task where I got to listen to music and zone out for a bit :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.