Hidden gem: London's Welsh church

On my way to the Tate gallery I accidentally took a wrong turning and found myself outside St Benet church, Paul's Wharf.

At first the placard outside the church did not register. Then I realised it was in Welsh!


I had stumbled across London's only remaining Welsh church, open to the public only on a Thursday and for services on Sundays and for special occasions.

This church by Sir Christopher Wren was completed in 1683. It is a particularly valuable example of Wren's work, for it is one of only four churches in the City that escaped damage in the 1939-45 war and remains basically as Wren built it.

In 1954, in the reorganisation of the City Churches and parishes, St Benet became one of the City Guild Churches.
By a sheer piece of serendipity I had stumbled across this church on the only day in the week it is open, thanks to volunteers, and I spent a very happy hour in there reminiscing with them about all things Welsh.

Oh yes, from the balcony of Tate Modern you get a grand view of St Pauls and if you know where to look you can spot the spire of St Benets church just touching the horizon beneath the grandiose dome of St. Pauls cathedral.

More photos in blipfolio Welsh church in London

Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.