Hope

As the morning was warm and sunny, I decided to go see if I could spot any fawns, Hazel, the hawk, or other babies. When I arrived, I was greeted by a man who asked me, "Good morning.  Have you seen any deer?"  I told him that given a chance I will likely find them so he asked if he could tag along.  I am not sure if he realized what he was in for.  Three hours later, I had taken him through the woods, several meadows, and along the marsh.

Three circling vultures in the meadow had me intrigued as I wondered if an animal was injured.  They would occasionally drop down to the ground but would quickly return to the sky to circle once again. Several times they circled over our heads...and rather low.

In the same meadow, there was a small herd of deer who began to run away as soon as they spotted us which is highly unusual normally.  Then I spotted little ears in the tall grass.  We retreated and sure enough, the little fawn sprang up and left to join the rest.  Sadly, I only got the tail end and you can barely make out his spots (extra).  I was pleased too see one so little and as I saw another doe who looked ready to give birth, I have hope to see more in the very near future.

I also saw baby squirrels running in and around a squirrel's nest.  Too high and they were too active to get a good clear shot of them.  Old One Eye was there but no turkeys were displaying.  Perhaps they feel like the season is finished for them...or they were taking a break  ; )

Leaving the area, I spotted the blind raccoon who looked worse for wear.  It must have been a hard winter for him.  I was thrilled however to see an environmental protection group creating nests for ducks and geese!  I was correct regarding no ducklings and goslings because of the flooding, so these people are making some give the fowl options.  I sure hope they are successful!

I hope you are all having wonderful weekends  : )

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.