A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Douro

We have had a splendid day but I can't show you much of it as I have somehow deleted all my pictures except this one and a few bad accidental shots. I've never had this happen before so I'm not sure how I've done it. Maybe I'll be able to retrieve them as I did my Balloon flight pictures that disappeared a couple of years ago.

We spent the morning down on the river (Douro). Very buzzing with people but we managed to be almost front of the queue for one of the boats that ply up and down the five bridges in the centre of Porto. The boats are designed to look like the ones that were used here to transport the casks/barrels of port and wine up and down the river.

This shot (my only one!) shows the view from the river which is very similar to the one I took yesterday from the hillside above. It shows the Puente D. Luis 1 which has road and rail traffic crossing it. Just beyond it is the road bridge Puente Infante. I had hoped to either show the view the other way under the bridge looking up towards Graham's or the next bridge along which was built by Gustav Eiffel and is currently out of use but they are proposing to make it into a pedestrian bridge.
To left of the bridge (Porto) you can see the cathedral above the town and on the right (Gaiai)is a monastery.

We thoroughly enjoyed the blowy and some times splashy ride. We then had lunch on the Quay and felt we should drink some Mateus Rose with it.
The afternoon was spent in the old town where we had our tour yesterday. A stop for tea and Pasteis de Nata (Portuguese custard tarts) helped after we climbed all the hills.

I'm most upset at not having the pictures taken in the book shop I mentioned yesterday, Livraria Lello. Not much of a queue today by late afternoon so we decided to buy a ticket to go in. It is an amazing place and if it did inspire J K Rowling in her creation of Hogwarts I'm not surprised. We didn't get a ticket refund by buying a book as most of them were in Portuguese and also pretty pricey but a building worth seeing.
(As I can't add an extra to show you I have done a link to their website if you are interested - https://www.livrarialello.pt/en-us/livrarialello-institucional
We've got to sort out our transport to the station tomorrow for our transfer to Lisbon then I think a little alcohol may be required!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.