Cyperus alternifolius

Aka Umberella plant.  Related to papyrus.  Bought today on yet another foray to a garden centre or 2.  And W has planted it up already.

After getting up at 7.15 to provide mum's taxi to the train station, I made the morning drinks, and went back to bed to drink it.  Ended up not getting dressed till gone 10!  Then we had our usual Sunday poached eggs, before eventually stirring ourselves to go down to Bungay to visit a nursery that W thought did a good selection of trees.  We have in mind to replace some of the boring conifers just beyond the pond with a specimen yew - but since trees take a long time to grow, and we are impatient for results, we want to start with a good sized tree.  We were pleasantly surprised at how cheaply we could get one - but it really wasn't as big as we are looking for.  We'll keep looking - no rush.

On the way back, I felt lacking in energy, but there is so much I wanted to do this weekend.  So I forced myself to tackle the ironing, some nettles and bracken, and 30mins on the exercise bike, before we had our evening meal, then caught up with Gardener's World on iPlayer.

Now ready for bed.  But feel better in spirits that I pushed myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.