Quadbiking

So after an horrendous night's (non)sleep, with a very unwell brownie, today's activities were zip lining, quad biking, fencing and orienteering.

I did have a go on the zip line and despite having done it a few times, it was still scary to step off the platform. The Brownies were mostly brave enough. I think it's good to test ourselves a little and understand our boundaries. I think it makes me a better leader too, if I can empathise when a child is afraid to try something. And of course the girls love it when we join in.

Quad biking however was dreadful for the environment and as the girls only went 2 at a time, it took forever and was painfully dull to watch. (Bikes too small for adults).

*photo not the best but I can't post girls' faces on the internet (Scouts are ok though! Different organisation and different rules!)

I joined in with fencing. Probably wouldn't bother next time. Can't see the point tbh (lol).

Orienteering was dreadful; terribly badly done, but I bit my tongue politely. It was a pity it was the final activity of the weekend as all the other instructors were excellent.

Overall however the event was a huge success with all the girls trying activities they'd not done before and rising to challenges and finding that different people are good at different things. PGL did a grand job, even managing the multitude of allergies the girl's have.

Sorry I've not looked at any other journals. It's just been too full on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.