Poppy

For the first time for several days I had a morning to myself. Inspired by an article shared by AJC and JDO I had sent off for an LED lightpad and a pair of soft boxes, so that I could take high-key plant portraits, ideal for recording scientific specimens as well as being very attractive in their own right. Today was my first opportunity to set everything up and have a play. I started with an arrangement of flowers from the garden and then a head of Briza maxima (see extras) which I was pleased with.

Before I knew it, it was time to leave for Castor Flood Meadows where I was leading a walk for the local Wildlife Trust. The weather was just perfect, a relief after a very damp start to the day, and the meadows looked beautiful. We had over thirty attendees, who all seemed to have a very good time. On our way back we passed a fallow field with a scatter of poppies, including this intensely coloured one, which I had to photograph when I returned home.

It had been a perfect summer day, until, just before bed, I read the news of another appalling attack on innocent victims on London Bridge and in Borough Market. This poppy is for all those who have been affected, especially the families who have lost loved ones. I find it impossible to understand how people can perpetrate such violence, but once again the humanity and bravery of the majority shone out in contrast with the depravity of the terrorists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.