Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Mono Monday - Blip Names

Well thank you DollykGray.  I am really enjoying reading how people got their blip names.  I have to say that mine was completely unimaginative. 

I am Jenny or Jen or Jennifer if I have been really bad or you are my mother.  Speaking of which that is her on the left on the photo in the insert.  My dad used to call me Jen, that is him on the right.  I have a little more hair now than in the photo but not by much.  So of course I will do a selfie more or less at the drop of the hat and here is the current me looking like a stunned mullet after 5 hours sleep and wandering around Vivid last night.  I could fit my wardrobe into those bags under my eyes.  The pooches, Poppy and Hamish of course are part and parcel of Jensphotos.  Well Jen you get, and blip was about photos so I became Jen's Photos.  Told you I was unimaginative.  Newcastle Downunder happened because my journal was so much about the place where I live and it's beaches and like many other places in Australia, we have pinched place names from the motherland.  I didn't want it confused with the Newcastle upon Tyne and so it became Newcastle Downunder.

So back to the photo in the insert.  I thought I would show you where I came from.  My dad was rather dashing.  A solicitor and a very bright man.  He was a regular contestant on a game show when he was young called the Quiz Kids.  He was dux of his school.  His dad was also a solicitor but became a sporting journalist in the depression and worked for the Mirror.  My dad's mum was a professional pianist.  My dad died way too young in 1990 and I miss him very much but it doesn't hurt now the way it did when he first died.  My Mum, bless her, is still going.  She has the artistic talent and used to be in advertising until I ruined her career as in those days a married woman with a child didn't work.  Her father was a man who did everything.  Raced cars, was a mechanic, businessman and wait for it, a photographer and he took this photo of us.  His wife came from a huge Irish clan and taught me to knit and like AFL.   I better post this before I decide I have given way too much information and delete it all.  Happy Monday blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.