crawl space

This morning I removed most of the old plastic under the house. I filled in dips in the soil where water collected. I could place the new plastic vapor barrier under house. But then I do not feel like crawling under the house again today.

While leveling the dirt with a short handle shovel, I came upon a thick cottonwood root.I cut it and removed it.

I am intimate with our house. When we purchased the house, it could have been demolished: sitting on rotten cedar blocks, leaking roof, sagging ceiling, several windows without headers, a floor joist cut to make a hole for a chimney when the chimney could have been built between the floor joists as a result a bulge in the floor. We renovated, upgraded and added to it. I poured concrete foundations under the house. We paid cash, price of the land, house was worthless and we did not need a mortgage. We bought in 1983 during the recession. The property was inexpensive.

As a friend said, "What a quaint cottage." And Renee said that we recycled a house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.