June Photoaday Challenge 5 - Sunglasses

Not strictly sunglasses, and not strictly an explanation of my blip name But tenuous claims to both, so am chancing it!
My blip name Lala is actually what my granddaughters call me. When my eldest granddaughter was born, a few months before my 50th birthday, I did not want to be a 'Granny' or 'Nanny' or 'Nana'. The Spanish for a grandmother is Abuela, shortened affectionately to Lala, so that's what I asked to be called. Some of my friends think it is very fitting, not sure why ;).

For my 50th birthday my brother bought me a 40 minute flight in thisTiger Moth. Our father was a pilot and when writing his memoirs had described the joy he felt when training in one of these planes, and in doing the stunts. That is what the trainee pilots loved most! I had wanted to follow in his footsteps, and have that experience and my brother did that for me. I flew the plane, touched down and took off from a beach and did all those stunts - twice, once over LC and again over the aerodrome on my return, where my family watched from the ground.

My youngest granddaughter loves watching and tracking planes too, so I think it is all connected and for the purpose of the June photochallenge today, those goggles also served as sun glasses!

Thank you to Dollykgray for a wonderful MonoMonday theme, I am going to enjoy reading them all.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.