Spots of Time

I didn't have a blip for today, it was wall to wall rain and very hectic but I saw the MonoMonday challenge to post something that explained our blip names, hosted by Dollykgray. I enjoyed reading blippers entries and so decided to have a go.

My blip name started out as Blencathragain because after my husband died all I could think of doing was going up and down the Lakeland fell called Blencathra. Eventually life inched on and I got to a point where I was a bit worn out by Blencathra so changed my blipname to a name inspired by the poet, William Wordsworth. In his autobiographical poem, The Prelude, he writes 'there are in our existence spots of time' ... these are moments in his life that he believed were seminal points that formed the person he became. I started to look for poems that matched my blips or feelings associated with the day, or just poems that caught a mood or moment and I began to feel that blips form a representation of us, we create our blips, they create us ... or something along those lines.

Anyway, enough of that. This is a blip of a wonderful quilt made for me and my husband by my very talented niece. She put family photos into the central panels and made up a patchwork of spots of time. That's her as a little girl on her summer holiday in Norfolk with mum about 25 years ago. (I've added the colour version in extras because I love the fabric she used).

I woke this morning with the searing memory of telling mum that dad had died. I don't know why that should have crashed into my semi-consciousness today. The news cut through the cloud of her dementia and devastated her before the fog crept back in and she was lost again and it became an ever more distant tolling bell on an endless unboundaried sea. Yet another spot of time to add to all of those that accrete into our souls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.