SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Mono Monday - Blip name

I’ve viewed my life as a journey walking through seasons, much like a book has chapters.  Perhaps it’s because I’ve always enjoyed and looked forward to the changing seasons where I live.  Each one is distinct, bringing their own beauty and usually we can detect a beginning and an end, even though at times it’s harder to tell when the next season begins.  For me, seasons mark change.  

About 6 years ago, unforeseen and disappointing circumstances in my life came about and I found myself with a lot of time on my hands.  For this conscientious, driven, goal oriented perfectionist, it felt like life had come to a grinding halt.  I remember pacing around my house, thinking I was going crazy not knowing what to do with my days.  As I began to embrace the quiet and solitude, I found understanding that I needed to settle into a new rhythm in my life.  During this ‘season’, I was working through some personal issues and around this time is when I received a gift of money which enabled me to buy my first DSLR camera.  A while after I was looking to put my photos on a blog of sorts and began searching for a name.  I had wanted something that would serve as a marker for this new season in my life.  As I compared what I called my before life, to the way I was walking out my new life, I somehow came up with the name SecondSeason.  To me it implied a moving forward…not disregarding or forgetting what had happened in the past, but learning from it, healing and growing beyond it, embracing all the good, bad and the ugly.  All of that (and this is a BIG that!), now has made me the person I think I was intended to be and continue to mature into. 

So this morning as I hit one of the local trails, I was trying to figure out how to match a picture to my Blipfoto name.  At one point, I sensed to look up and there flying almost above me, was a heron.  I quickly raised my camera and snapped just as the heron flew in line with the sun.  I realized that this was what my second season of life was about.  To be free.  To fly and soar to new heights not yet discovered all the while remaining and walking in the light.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.