Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Potrero Hill - De Haro and Carolina Streets

My blip name is just my initials, nothing very interesting there, but my journal name is my telephone area code. When I started blip I was living in Portland, Oregon, so the journal at that time was Mostly Five Oh Three, now I am back in the Bay Area I changed it to Mostly Six Five Oh to reflect that. I've lived in many different places in my life including London, and formative periods of time in France. I've always been interested in cities, streets, architecture, people doing what they do in whatever places I happen to be living and blip really coalesced this interest and gave it a place to live. It's likely my journal name will change again to reflect wherever I end up living next.  I have my dear friend Jenny to thank for introducing me to blip.

For today's blip this is San Francisco, my place of birth, my first home, and had blip been around way back when my journal would have been called Mostly Four One Five. My cell phone number is still 415, I never changed it when we lived in Portland, didn't seem any point, or maybe I knew I'd be back in the Bay Area?

When my mother was pregnant with me, she and my grandmother were on a boat on San Francisco Bay when her water broke. She told me that when she and my grandmother were headed through China Town to the wharf it was Chinese New Year and a fire cracker had exploded noisily right next to her and startled her and thinks maybe that's why I decided it was time to arrive - I was certainly due. While out on the bay and my arrival in the very near future my grandmother had asked my mother if she wanted to get the boat turned around - no, she was fine. We all made it to UCSF, my father who was an Elementary School teacher at a school in Potrero Hill was stuck in rush hour traffic trying to get across town to the hospital at 3rd and Parnassus. San Francisco traffic now is of course mindbogglingly beyond anything it was then!


A couple extras, one across the city with Mount Tamalpais on the horizon and just the top of one of the Golden Gate Bridge towers seen through the fog creeping in across the bay.  The other looking down 23rd Street towards the Mission District (my first home), Sutro Tower and Twin Peaks on horizon. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.