What's in a Name.... Mono Monday

I suspect the origin of my blip name is pretty obvious. My blip name is a variation on a well-known American folk song title in combination with my real name Suzanne.  When I tried to come up with a user name on another site a long time ago, it became osuzanna by default as all the other versions were already taken and so I have stayed. 

Oh! Susanna was written by Stephen Foster in 1848 and is probably one of the most popular and recognizable American Songs ever written.  In my day, every school child knew it well and some of my school mates did occasionally tease me with it, but all in good fun. “Oh! Susanna, don’t you cry for me” begins the refrain and the rest of the lyrics are quite nonsensical. If by some chance you have never heard this song, you can catch it here on You-Tube.  

I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed reading about the origins of these blip names.  Thanks Yvonne, for creating such a fun challenge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.