Arum Lily

At 8.30pm on a wet June evening, I was bereft of a blip until at the last alongside Mote Lake I spotted a grouping of these Arum Lilies. Low light and a zoom meant shutter speed was very slow but I managed to support the camera to make it steady enough to take a reasonable shot in the circumstances.

I have a soft spot for Arum Lilies as these are one of the flowers I always associate with my dad when he worked as Head Gardener at Orleton Hall in Shropshire.  These and Maiden Hair Fern I particularly associate with him although he obviously grew much more than that! He spent his whole working life, apart from the Second World War, within the 4 walls of a Victorian Walled Garden. Some of his skills and knowledge have passed down to me but too late for him to appreciate it as he died just before we took on the allotment. An hour or two with him now would be worth its weight in gold.

Most of the day otherwise, was spent painting the windows of the studio. Five to do and I found it easier to unscrew the windows and remove them completely than try and get the paintbrush into the fiddly bits. One side had two coats but the other side still needs a second coat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.